Young Researchers Symposium
on Mathematical Physics

July 25 - 26, 2003
Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal

The Young Researchers Symposium took place immediately before the 14th International Congress on Mathematical Physics (ICMP 2003) at Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon.
Plenary speakers gave introductory and pedagogical lectures in various fields of Mathematical Physics, especially designed for the training of young researchers and those participants had an extra chance (besides ICMP2003) to present their work in the afternoon.
Plenary lectures: one-hour talks by invited speakers during which no other congress activities took place.
The IAMP awards the Henri Poincaré Prize, sponsored by the Daniel Iagolnitzer Foundation. Huzihiro Araki, Elliott Lieb and Oded Schramm will receive the award in Lisbon at the ICMP2003, and gave special Henri Poincaré Lectures during the Young Researchers Symposium.
Seminars: 30 minute seminars in two parallel sessions
The complete symposium schedule is available.
Symposium venue
The Symposium was held in the Congress Center of Instituto Superior Técnico.
More about the YRS:
Organizing committee:
Departamento de Matemática
Instituto Superior Técnico
Av. Rovisco Pais
P-1049-001 Lisboa, Portugal
Fax: +351 218417598
Email: yrs@icmp2003.net
Grupo de Física Matemática
da Universidade de Lisboa
Av. Prof. Gama Pinto, 2
P-1649-003 Lisboa, Portugal
Phone: +351 217904727
Fax: +351 217954288
Email: org@icmp2003.net
K.I.T.  Congressos e Incentivos, Lda.
Ref.: "XIV International Congress on Mathematical Physics"
Rua Pedro Monjardino, Lote 11, 1º Dto
P-1600-892 Lisboa, Portugal
Phone: +351 217220010
Fax: +351 217220019
Email: sec@icmp2003.net
Email for registration: reg@icmp2003.net
Travel agency:
AIMS International Portugal
Rua Garrett, 61-63
P-1200-203 Lisboa, Portugal
Phone: +351 213245052/53/54
Fax: +351 213245051
Email: icmp2003@aims.pt
International scientific committee
Jean Bellissard (Toulouse)
Giovanni Felder (Zürich)
Elliott Lieb (Princeton)
Werner Nahm (Bonn)
Herbert Spohn (Munich)
Robert Wald (Chicago)
Jean-Claude Zambrini (Lisbon)
International advisory committee
Sergio Albeverio (Bonn)
Jean-Michel Bismut (Orsay)
Eric A. Carlen (Atlanta)
Vaughan F. R. Jones (Berkeley)
Yasha G. Sinai (Princeton)
Marcelo Viana (Rio de Janeiro)
Jakob Yngvason (Wien)
Local organizing committee
of the YRS
A. Cannas (I.S.T., Lisbon)
A.B. Cruzeiro (GFMUL, I.S.T., Lisbon)
R.L. Fernandes (I.S.T., Lisbon)
P. Freitas (I.S.T., Lisbon)
L.T. Magalhães (I.S.T., Lisbon)
J. Mourão (I.S.T., Lisbon)
J.P. Nunes (I.S.T., Lisbon)
R. Picken (I.S.T., Lisbon)
V. Rocha Vieira (I.S.T., Lisbon)
A.R. Silva (I.S.T., Lisbon)
R. Vilela Mendes (GFMUL, I.S.T., Lisbon)
J.C. Zambrini (GFMUL, Univ. of Lisbon)
of ICMP 2003 and YRS
· International Association of Mathematical Physics
· European Commission, High-Level Scientific Conferences, contract HPCF-2002-00368
· International Union of Pure and Applied Physics
· Fundação para a Ciência e Tecnologia
· International Mathematical Union
· Clay Mathematics Institute
· Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian
· Fondation Culturelle Daniel Iagolnitzer
· European Physical Society
· Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics
· National Science Foundation USA
· Ambassade de France au Portugal
· Portuguese Mathematical Society
· Fundação Luso-Americana
· Ministério da Educação
· Fundação Oriente
· Nestlé Portugal
· Câmara Municipal de Lisboa
· Reitoria da Universidade de Lisboa
· Group of Mathematical Physics of the University of Lisbon
· Center for Mathematical Analysis, Geometry, and Dynamical Systems
· Centro de Matemática e Aplicações
· Centro de Matemática e Aplicações Fundamentais
· Centro de Estruturas Lineares e Combinatórias
Scientific publishers:
· American Institute of Physics
· Birkhäuser Verlag
· Cambridge University Press
· Institute of Physics
· Kluwer Academic Publishers
Oxford University Press
· Springer-Verlag
· World Scientific